Hello - New QL owner in need of some advice

Introduce yourself here!
Rich G
ROM Dongle

Hello - New QL owner in need of some advice

Post by Rich G »

Hello all. Nice to be here.

I've been collecting 80's machines for the last 8-9 months or so and finally bagged a QL.

I guess this particular QL could be described as new condition - it's obviously spent all of it's life it's box.
The box is as near mint as you could imagine and all contents are complete - the PSU hasn't ever had a mains plug attached.
Even the warranty card and welcome letter are fresh and unwrinkled. A smell of new electronics hits you as you open the pristine white polys... you get the idea.

Now, I'm more of an enthusiast than a collector who buys items only to store them away forever and a day as an investment. So should I keep it wrapped up as a potential museum piece or should I get a plug on it and start enjoying it?
Serial number starts D13 - so not a super early version.
(think I've already made my mind up now I've typed this :) )

How rare are QLs in this condition?

Anyhow - all that aside, I'm really happy to own one of these machines.

Richard.

dilwyn
Mr QL

Re: Hello - New QL owner in need of some advice

Post by dilwyn »

Welcome along, Rich. Hope you don't just pack it away, QLs are there to be used and enjoyed.

Your namesake at RWAP Services has plenty of software and second user add-ons, and you can obviously get some from eBay and SellMyRetro.com too.

If this unit is in pristine condition, it would be nice to get the original letters/cards supplied with it scanned for posterity if you get a chance. I do have some of them, but many are not in good condition.

We're a friendly bunch around here so if you need help with anything, just ask!