Reverse Engineering

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge

Reverse Engineering

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Hi,

I am wondering whether reverse engineering, which involve software disassembly of QL software where the source code is not available is legal or not.

Regards,

Derek
RalfR
Aurora

Re: Reverse Engineering

Post by RalfR »

I think, you should ask the copyright owner (mostly the author). If the source code is lost (DM5 or QLiberator), perhaps they are very pleased, if you are able to help them out.

4E75 7000
tofro
Font of All Knowledge

Post by tofro »

Derek_Stewart wrote:Hi,

I am wondering whether reverse engineering, which involve software disassembly of QL software where the source code is not available is legal or not.
Derek,

you are aware that's a really big can of worms you're opening? :D I'm not a lawyer, but have been working in the software industry for some time, so feel entitled to a very non-exhausting answer.

In most legislations it isn't - Just like ripping apart your alarm clock to see how it works isn't.

It might, however, be (and in most cases is) a breach of your licence contract, if it explicitly says so.

There's more traps to fall into when recompiling the reengineered source code back into a product and do something (like sell it or otherwise transfer it to a third party) with it, or more generally, what you do with the gained insights:
  1. In some legislations, you might be commiting patent infringement (assuming such a patent exists) - Some legislations allow source code to be patented (US of A, for example says "anything under the sun that is made by man" can be patented) while many others, especially in Europe, don't and explicitly exclude software from the list of things that can be patented.
  2. You will very probably commit copyright infringement when you copy the whole thing 1:1 or in large parts (which is very hard to proof without reengineering your product, see above...)