My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

The Thor, Aurora, Q40, Q60 & Q68 etc. are discussed here.
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby vanpeebles » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:18 am

I just thought I'd post some pics and thoughts on one of the more empty parts of the forum detailing my recent Pandora/Aurora acquisition. I already had the super gold card. The Pandora came with the Aurora plus a Q plane and a Super Hermes. It needed assembling and all the ports fitting etc.

Image

The Q plane is not really suited for the Pandora case so I made a card support from some lego to take the weight of the super gold. I also made up a 5v lead for the super gold.

Image

At the moment the only storage is two 2.88 floppy drives (which I didn't know about, so an added bonus). The second drive is very noisy though and doesn't work well, is it possible to add a third standard PC 1.44 drive to the second floppy drive on the SGC? So I'd have flp3_?

The next stage is to track down some proper storage, the qubide clone is not keen on working with it (and not designed too which is fair enough :) ) I also have a nice enermax ATX psu so maybe fit that with an AT to ATX adapter? Although it's not really needed at the moment.

Image


User avatar
1024MAK
Super Gold Card
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby 1024MAK » Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:19 pm

vanpeebles wrote:The Q plane is not really suited for the Pandora case so I made a card support from some lego to take the weight of the super gold.
Nice, but I cannot see the Lego :(

Mark


QL, Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (Sinclair and Acorn)(nearly forgot the Psion's)
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby vanpeebles » Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:56 pm

The black stuff with holes on the middle photo. Not the best picture/lighting sadly :(


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby Derek_Stewart » Wed Jun 24, 2015 3:28 pm

Hi,

Looks great, the Pandora case gives a great level of portability. Will you bring to a QL Show?

The Qplane does give alot of noise, I have one built into a Black PC Case, just need to get one of my Super Gold Cards or Gold working to make a nice system.

The Mplane is better, but it went to the USA for manufacture, pity, as I could built them as with the Romdisq.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
1024MAK
Super Gold Card
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby 1024MAK » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:27 pm

Ahh, now I know where to look, I can now kinda see (still needs my imagination to help out though) :P

Have you ever thought about working in the military, if you can pull off the same trick by hiding a main battle tank, you would make millions :lol:

Mark


QL, Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (Sinclair and Acorn)(nearly forgot the Psion's)
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby vanpeebles » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:28 pm

It would be nice to take it to some shows :) I'll keep an eye out for a different backplane an d an original qubide too :)

Hehehe I'll see if I can take some better pics.


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby vanpeebles » Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:34 pm

Does anyone know if it's possible to set the screen resolution using qdos or do you need to be running smsq? :?


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby dilwyn » Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:24 pm

vanpeebles wrote:Does anyone know if it's possible to set the screen resolution using qdos or do you need to be running smsq? :?

You need to be running SMSQ/E.

QDOS does not support either the higher resolution or higher colour modes (unless you write your own code for QDOS!)


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby tofro » Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:28 pm

Peter,

I don't (unfortunately) have an Aurora, so don't know from own experience, but

with one of the later PEs you should be able to use GD2.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: My Pandora Aurora Super QL Project

Postby vanpeebles » Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:52 pm

I've managed to get it working using smsq, although with a small window top left. Which from reading the manual, I need to adjust some window# values. The confusion was due to a misunderstanding in thinking that smsq wasn't keen on the hxc drive. :D

I'm currently locked in battle trying to get smsq working on a newly acquired hxc floppy drive emulator thingy. Lots of head scratching, much cursing but slow progress! :lol:

Will the Aurora only boot from flp1_ or should I be ok with the hxc as flp3_?



Return to “Compatibles Corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests