Q40/Q60 Roms

The Thor, Aurora, Q40, Q60 & Q68 etc. are discussed here.
Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2272
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Derek_Stewart » Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:27 pm

mk79 wrote:Are W274096-12 an option for the Q60? I personally prefer EEPROMs, just so much more convenient.

Hi,

Had a quick at suplliers and datasheets, the pin outs are the same as the AM27C4096, so maybe a good option.

I will see aboit getting some W27C4096 EEPROMs to try.

In the mean time, I have some ST MC27C1025, AM27C4096 Eproms, also restored my UV Eprom Eraser from storage, so will get my Q60s updated to a current compressed version of SMSQ/E.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Dave » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:05 pm

Would it be reasonable to do a flash adapter and IC to go there? Would it be in system programmable?


User avatar
Peter
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1266
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Peter » Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:13 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:I will see aboit getting some W27C4096 EEPROMs to try.

They are obsolete, I suspect lots of Chinese fakes.

Dave, you are the expert in this area, could you comment on the procurement situation?


User avatar
mk79
Aurora
Posts: 927
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am
Location: Esslingen/Germany
Contact:

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby mk79 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:25 am

Peter wrote:
Derek_Stewart wrote:I will see aboit getting some W27C4096 EEPROMs to try.

They are obsolete, I suspect lots of Chinese fakes.
Not fake, used. Got a ton of EEPROMs with data on them, but that's not really a huge problem, they work fine. The bigger problem for the W27C4096 is that it's not on the list of supported devices for the cheap programmers. Might still work if "check ID" is disabled, but I don't know.


User avatar
BSJR
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby BSJR » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:06 pm

Peter wrote:...Yes, but you need UV light to erase. If you do it seldom, even sunlight might be an option. Do blank check before trying to program.

So far I have only needed it once for my Thor and used the Z88 Eprom eraser to clear the old data.
I made a small adapter out of cardboard to make sure the UV light and the eye of the chip lined up.

BSJR


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby tofro » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:35 pm

I've got no EPROM eraser, but program lots of EPROMs usually. Some days on the window sill on the south side of the house in open sunlight usually suffice to erase an EPROM safely.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
Pr0f
Aurora
Posts: 803
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Pr0f » Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:46 pm

the germicidal / insecticidal lamps that can be found on eBay should also clear EPROM's but don't be in the same room as one of these, if you can rig one up in a box with a lamp holder and some ventiatlion to remove ozone and heat buildup, you have yourself an eprom eraser :-)


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby tofro » Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:01 pm

Good tip, but the big one in the sky that I have is good enough for me...


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2272
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Derek_Stewart » Fri Apr 24, 2020 4:02 pm

Hi,

I have a dedicated Eprom Eraser with variable timer. I have 8 x 27C1024 and 6 x 27C4096 Eproms, which could erased and a compressed versikn of Q60 SMSQ/E burned in.

The Winbond W27C4096 EEPROMS, are not expensive, but will take over 10 weeks to arrive from China... So I will stick normal eproms.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Chr$
Aurora
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Q40/Q60 Roms

Postby Chr$ » Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:12 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:The Winbond W27C4096 EEPROMS, are not expensive, but will take over 10 weeks to arrive from China... So I will stick normal eproms.


I got some W27C4096 from China. Eager to try them out - I then discovered that my TL866 doesn't support them! I can read them by setting it to an NEC UPD27C4096 (and a couple of other types). But cannot erase or program them because the compatible types are UV eproms.

Are you able to program Winbond W27C4096 EEPROMS Derek? Or if anyone knows if it's possible to make an adapter or something, I'm all ears.


Collector of QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't really understand how they work.
Original QL's: many (plus quite a bit of other old stuff and 140+ original software titles)
Custom XT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
QXLII card installed in a PC
Q40 and Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest