Extra ports...

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Brad
ROM Dongle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Brad » Tue May 19, 2020 5:46 pm

I am very excited to receive this psu. It will allow me to actually boot up a ql for the first time ever. I’d never even seen one in real life til a few months ago despite being British, 50 and a total nerd. I can’t even explain how that happened. To never even see one in a high street electrical retailer!


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Extra ports...

Postby vanpeebles » Tue May 19, 2020 8:16 pm

I hope it still works :lol:


User avatar
Brad
ROM Dongle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Brad » Tue May 19, 2020 10:39 pm

Yeah, disappointment incoming!
I have electronics 'mending' equipment here and after a couple of large whiskies I have a steady hand so if it doesn't work hopefully I can do whatever needs to be done.


User avatar
Brad
ROM Dongle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Brad » Sat May 23, 2020 3:35 pm

It’s alive!!

New membrane working. Psu working. It boots and I can even die mdv2_

Mdv1 makes an awful noise and seems to make the machine hang

One weird thing, it only boots every other time. If it’s working and I press reset, or power off, then when it next boots it just says Minerva bottom right then sits there. Another press of reset and I’m back up and asked to press f1 or f2. Weird huh?


User avatar
Brad
ROM Dongle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Brad » Sat May 23, 2020 3:39 pm

Also sometimes when I power on the drives just spin up and stay spinning up :(

I think the wires that connect the main board to the keyboard assembly might not be in
Properly. 3 black a grey a white and a red. They came out. I put them back in after looking at a photo of a QL motherboard. I assumed the 3 black wires were all the same. Please don’t tell me they aren’t! Anyway, they don’t really sit in there very tight.


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat May 23, 2020 4:16 pm

Hi Brad,

The wires are connections to the power and microdrive leds.

Please this message for the connections order:

https://qlforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2769&p=27046&hilit=wires#p27046

They should affect the powering if of the QL.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Brad
ROM Dongle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Brad » Sat May 23, 2020 6:34 pm

Ok a clean up of the
Micro drives and a reseating of the wires seems to now have both drives working. The only oddity is the every other boot thing that’s going on. This is completely reproducible; every other reset or boot shows the Minerva logo bottom right but no box on the left inviting f1 etc. Pressing any key does nothing. A reset makes it all work again! It’s too
Predictable to be random I feel but I’m a total QL noob. There are loads of other added bits in this machine. I wonder if it’s some sort of multi rom boot feature or something.


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Extra ports...

Postby vanpeebles » Sat May 23, 2020 7:08 pm

We might need a piccy! :D


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Extra ports...

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat May 23, 2020 7:43 pm

Hi,

If the red Minerva logo is displayed only, usually the 8049 IPC chip next to tge microdrives is not working.


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests