Psion Chess under uQLx

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
drdtyc
ROM Dongle

Psion Chess under uQLx

Post by drdtyc »

Managed to install uQLx in my laptop under Manjaro Linux.

Downloaded PsionChess.qlpak

I have put the .qpak file in win2_

wcopy "win2_PsionChess.qlpak" to win1_pchess

wdir win1_
This shows that pchess file is in win1_

exec win1_pchess
It shows bad parameter.

I am a newbie on QL emulator.
I had a QL more than three decades ago.
Now trying out an uQLx to re-live my QL days.

Thus need some guidance and directions to go about it to run Psion Chess which was my first computer game and my favourite on the QL,

Chr$
QL Wafer Drive

Re: Psion Chess under uQLx

Post by Chr$ »

Isn't a .qlpak an image file, so a container/archive for usually more than one file (original Psion Chess was certainly more than one file).

I have no experience with Linux but I think you've essentially moved and at the same time re-named the .qpak file to 'pchess'.

So it is therefore not a proper QL executable and when a file you try to execute isn't a valid executable I believe the 'bad parameter' error is exactly what it reports (on a real QL at least).

I think you need to somehow unpack the archive (qemulator seems to support that type), then put the contents of the archive wherever you want to run it from. No doubt someone will be along with more accurate instructions!

https://QXL.WIN
Collector of QL related computers, accessories and QL games/software.
Ask me about felt pads - I can cut them to size and they have proved excellent for mdv data recovery.
Andrew
Aurora

Post by Andrew »

qlpak is a zip archive which contains the program AND the settings to configure QEmulator to run it.
The chess.qlpak i know of is the one found here: http://www.terdina.net/ql/software.html
You can simply extract the chess program with unzip, but it will not run because it is copy protected and it will look for the chess in microdrive 1.