How do you make a QL emulator?

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby NormanDunbar » Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:07 pm

Hi Steve,

stevepoole wrote:We have decided that JavaScript is such a convenient language for cross-platform use, that we will not give up on it yet !

This is the joy of personal choice, your choices are different, probably, to everyone else's. I'm not asking you to give up on JavaScript, as I've said always, you pick the best language for the job, that you are confident with. (That's "you" in the general term, not you specifically! ;) )

stevepoole wrote:If we can work around the recent browser limitations, I shall report back.
I don't think the language developers will have shot themselves in their own feet !

It wouldn't be the first time that developers have done that. At least with C++ you can instantiate numerous "feet" objects, and shoot yourself in every one of them! :D :D :D

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby NormanDunbar » Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:11 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:At least with C++ you can instantiate numerous "feet" objects, and shoot yourself in every one of them! :D :D :D


Hmm, I thought I was being original with that little joke, it turns out I wasn't. :( I took the liberty of Googling "programming languages "shooting yourself in the foot" and got a number of hits, then best one being http://www.toodarkpark.org/computers/hu ... -foot.html.

Enjoy.

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby dilwyn » Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:08 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:
NormanDunbar wrote:At least with C++ you can instantiate numerous "feet" objects, and shoot yourself in every one of them! :D :D :D


Hmm, I thought I was being original with that little joke, it turns out I wasn't. :( I took the liberty of Googling "programming languages "shooting yourself in the foot" and got a number of hits, then best one being http://www.toodarkpark.org/computers/hu ... -foot.html.

Enjoy.

Cheers,
Norm.

Enjoy? I nearly fell off my chair laughing.

And shot everything but my foot in the process :lol:


--
All things QL - http://www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby NormanDunbar » Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:33 pm

Hi Dilwyn,

the "unix" one was the best one for me. It's subtle, very subtle, and I've done it myself!

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby dilwyn » Thu Feb 27, 2020 9:19 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:Hi Dilwyn,

the "unix" one was the best one for me. It's subtle, very subtle, and I've done it myself!

Cheers,
Norm.

He he. A bit like tinkering with these IRC commands, modes etc - I feel like I'm managing to shoot between each toe at the moment, missing the foot initially, but gradually shooting the floor out from under me as the bullets create an outline of my foot. That's how I eventually lose my foot...


--
All things QL - http://www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
janbredenbeek
Gold Card
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:54 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby janbredenbeek » Thu Feb 27, 2020 11:07 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:Hi Dilwyn,

the "unix" one was the best one for me. It's subtle, very subtle, and I've done it myself!

I once managed to delete all home directories on a unix system when I just wanted to delete hidden files in my home directory.

I entered 'rm .*'. As root :o

Fortunately it was only a training environment...

Jan


User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby NormanDunbar » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:31 am

Hi Jan,

in my case it was being told to "delete all those old versions of Oracle that we don't use."

I wrote a script to:

Code: Select all

cd <where ALL oracle homes live>
rm -Rf old_oracle_home_name/ *


After it had taken what I considered "too long" I CTRL-C'd it. Yup, there was a space between '/' and '*' OOPS! I'd deleted a couple of in use Oracle homes as well.

You live and learn.

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby dilwyn » Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:19 am

NormanDunbar wrote:Hi Jan,

in my case it was being told to "delete all those old versions of Oracle that we don't use."

I wrote a script to:

Code: Select all

cd <where ALL oracle homes live>
rm -Rf old_oracle_home_name/ *


After it had taken what I considered "too long" I CTRL-C'd it. Yup, there was a space between '/' and '*' OOPS! I'd deleted a couple of in use Oracle homes as well.

You live and learn.

Cheers,
Norm.

You mean... a bit like using WDDEL (Qubide extensions) instead of WDEL to delete files from my Qubide a few years ago. Didn't spot the typo with double-D. Took a while to restore the backups and I was slightly less than happy :cry:


--
All things QL - http://www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby NormanDunbar » Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:55 pm

At least you had a backup to restore! Maybe even a WinBack backup! ;)

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: How do you make a QL emulator?

Postby RalfR » Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:26 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:At least you had a backup to restore! Maybe even a WinBack backup! ;)
:D
Which reminds me of the days of Atari SMSQ/E and its native WIN (MEGAfile 30...). I made a backup with Jonathan Hudson's TAR backup program, spread over 19 disks.

At least I have got a WIN error on the SMSQ partition (not the first one...), so made a new FORMAT and started the backup program, unfortunately, disk 12 genarates an error and so the complete backup was lost, including a 30+ pages T91 doc from my wife. She was "not amused".....
Last edited by RalfR on Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests