eBooks

A place to discuss general QL issues.
dilwyn
Mr QL

eBooks

Post by dilwyn »

Having got myself a little Android tablet computer (ancient v2.2 or so, was only really bought because of low price) I started playing with eBooks on it.

It’s crossed my mind that as these things have reasonable screens, one of the things I’d like to try to do is to port QL documentation (e.g. QL manual) as eBooks so that I can keep them all to hand, so that (i) the bookshelf can be cleared out and (ii) I don’t have to keep flicking between the QPC screen and reference PDFs on the PC all the time while programming (having the Android tablet propped up by the PC would be helfpul).

I don’t know much about eBook formats, but a quick use of google did suggest that it’s possible to convert between PDFs and the various eBook formats. Anyone got experience in this area, so I don’t have to reinvent the wheel?

If this works, it might be an idea for the medium term to then try to get these ebooks on ebook websites to make QL documentation more widely available for those returning to the QL, for example?

Dilwyn

belg4rion67
Trump Card

Re: eBooks

Post by belg4rion67 »

Hi,
I'm working on your idea about pdf to epub converter and I'm using now Calibre that is a free software used to convert a lot of documents formats into most used type of ebook files (epub. mobi, etc..); another good program, but not free, is Abby finereader 11 that has option to save scanned file onto epub format. When I will have a good epub files of QL pdf documents I'll post for you :)
Bye
Paolo

Only original hardware! :)
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli

Post by vanpeebles »

I don't really know much about ebooks, how does it handle pdfs that are scanned images rather than OCR'ed words?

Mr_Navigator
QL Fanatic

Post by Mr_Navigator »