QL Tinkering

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
qbits
Trump Card
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by qbits »

Hi
Seems I had a bit of luck and found myself free for a few days.
The weather not so good so I cracked on with the coding of Galaxy AD2370.
Happy to release my present version.
Probably best run on am emulator QL2K or SMSQmulator!

Enjoy!

QBITS

Note Updates 16th July!
Attachments
QBGalaxy AD2370v4.1.pdf
(1.54 MiB) Downloaded 296 times
QBAD2370_Gamev2.zip
(7.95 KiB) Downloaded 312 times
Last edited by qbits on Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.


User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by NormanDunbar »

Excellent manual!

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals
Author of Arduino Interrupts

No longer on Twitter, find me on https://mastodon.scot/@NormanDunbar.
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2815
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by vanpeebles »

You should make all those manuals into a QL Programming/Gaming book!


User avatar
janbredenbeek
Super Gold Card
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:54 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by janbredenbeek »

It seems there are lines missing near the end of the program. Here are a few lines:

Code: Select all

668 END DEFine
EFine
5650   IF astro(n,3)=0
5660      ch=16:INK#ch,2:PRINT#ch,astro$(n);' Falls'
5670      IF side(Gp1,3)<30:side(Gp1,3)=side(Gp1,3)+10
5680      IF side(Gp1,3)<60:side(Gp1,3)=side(Gp1,3)+5
5690      astro(n,5)=Gp1:GO TO 5470
5700   END IF
5710   SSInfo:GO TO 5630
5720 END IF
There are no lines between 668 and 5650 and the 'Efine' gives a 'bad name' or 'unkown procedure' error when LOADed.
It would be nice though to test this on QPC2 with SBASIC (maybe it runs too fast? :D ).

Jan.


qbits
Trump Card
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by qbits »

Thanks janbredenbeek for pointing that out.

No extra code after line 668. The rest is a left over a bit of quirk from saving with QL2K or to do with QLay not sure myself,
It happens. Any way I hop I’ve cleaned it up with the latest upload.

QBITS


qbits
Trump Card
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by qbits »

Galaxy AD2370v3DS
The earlier release of Galaxy AD2370 was very much a work in progress. Now with further work carried out I can deliver a Game with improved layout and extended graphics, hopefully fulfilling most of my original ideas for the Game.

Changes include Hyperspace Jump, Orbital approach, Laser Weapon and improvements to the Simulation mode.
Eight data files with the Load and Save function and a (H)elp page.

Good and not so good the program runs with QL2k and SMSQ emulators. I have loaded the program into the Q-Emulator in basic QL mode with 128KB memory. The Intro screen is displayed and from the Game Menu the game screen loads (be it slow). However within a few moments the screen freezes I suspect because the program has run out of working memory. I would be interested to hear back from anyone who tries the prog with QL hardware and extended memory.

Note
(M) Game Menu
(F1) Quick Test of Game functions including a revised Game End with new graphics.
(F2) Simulation Mode

Enjoy!
QBITs
Attachments
QBAD2370v3DS.zip
(9.57 KiB) Downloaded 247 times
Qemulator.jpg


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2815
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by vanpeebles »

Excellent work :)


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2685
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by tofro »

Hi,
nice game - unfortunately, it uses a variable name "SET", which is a keyword used by the ENV_bin system extension. If you have this extension loaded, this leads to a name clash.

Once I renamed this variable, all ran fine on QPC2.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
Cristian
Aurora
Posts: 960
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by Cristian »

qbits wrote: I would be interested to hear back from anyone who tries the prog with QL hardware and extended memory.

(M) Game Menu
(F1) Quick Test of Game functions including a revised Game End with new graphics.
(F2) Simulation Mode
I tested your program on a genuine real QL, TrumpCard expanded and MGI rom.
For some reason it refuses to detect the pressure of "M" key. So I REMarked the line (maybe 144?), so the program proceeded. The pressure of "F1" apparently produces no visible effect. Pressing "F2" a "simulation mode" sentence appears.
Anyway the program runs. Obviously it's really slow on a 7 MHz CPU, but it runs. Wonderful job!
I'm gonna try it with Minerva too


qbits
Trump Card
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: QL Tinkering

Post by qbits »

Thanks vanpeebles and Tofro - Perhaps I should have seen that one coming ‘SET’, by the way what did you rename it as.

Next Code Update – ‘set’ changed to ‘slk’ (Save lock) Line 109 / 163 / 165 / 204 / 231

Thanks Cristian for you QL hardware review - You might try this if you haven’t already:-

Line 144 - Quick fix is to use PAUSE without a qualifier. That will allow reading of the Intro page!
For the Intro page ‘M’ uses KEYROW for the Game Menu it uses INKEY$ does it work from the Game Menu.

Line 404 – If F1 works usually – to check this function run prog and go to Game Screen then halt prog using Ctrl/Spacebar and type sn=50: GameTest:
This should run the Game End sequence. Default will be a Federation WIN. Selecting (R)ebels from Game menu will show the alternative Rebel alliance wining.

Thanks all. Makes me want to renew my quest to obtain a replacement monitor and get my QL hardware up and running again.

QBITS


Post Reply