Backups!

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator

Backups!

Post by NormanDunbar »

Backups. We all read the manuals and make a backup, don't we? I have been doing so since i got my first ever QL back in 1984 or 1985. That's a good 32 or 33 years.

Today I decided that rather than having three Posso Boxes full of floppies, I would rip them to image files on my laptop using the dd command. Ha! That did not work well.

As I'm fond of preaching at work "always test your backups regularly" (I'm an Oracle DBA - we do not lose data!) - I suppose I should follow my own advice. Of three Posso Boxes full of floppies, I have rescued and ripped the entire contents of the Digital Precision Collection, 10 discs, and about 5 of my own originals. 15 floppies only!

Everything else is toast! :cry: Dilwyn probably remembers how many floppies can fit in a Posso, and I had 3 of them. My disc collection is in the bin.

So, don't make the same mistake, test your backups from time to time!

Cheers,
Norm. [Crying in his gin!]

Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals
Author of Arduino Interrupts

No longer on Twitter, find me on https://mastodon.scot/@NormanDunbar.
martyn_hill
Aurora

Re: Backups!

Post by martyn_hill »

Ouch! But Gin is good...

janbredenbeek
Super Gold Card

Post by janbredenbeek »

I've ripped all of my floppy disks with the dd command and only a few of them gave errors (some were deliberately not formatted to their full capacity, e.g. Minerva and Hermes supplemental disks). However my experience with HD diskettes on a Gold Card with ED drives is that they're not as reliable as DD diskettes - even ED diskettes were more reliable!

Jan

NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator

Post by NormanDunbar »

martyn_hill wrote:Ouch! But Gin is good...