Sinclair QL - blank screen.... HeLp!

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
abraXXious
ROM Dongle

Sinclair QL - blank screen.... HeLp!

Post by abraXXious »

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to the QL scene. I have two QLs, one in perfect working order, the other not. It is the second I need help with.

The second unit was purchased supposedly in fully working condition and is cosmetically in mint condition, however it will not display anything except a black blank screen.

I have tried both the monitor output and the UHF RF output - both give a solid stable black image and nothing else.

I am using a known good PSU and it has been tested on the other working QL to confirm it is fine (plus I checked the voltages).

I have substituted every socketted chip from the working QL to the non-working unit and there is no change, so it is not one of the socketted chips.

I have checked the voltage regulators and they are fine.

Rich from RWAP (lovely fellow) was even kind enough to loan me his Minerva ROM to check if it was a faulty RAM IC - even with the Minerva installed I still get the same solid, stable black screen.

The unit looks like new and even has a brand new keyboard membrane installed so it would be a shame to relegate it to the 'lost cause' cupboard. :( I am fairly handy with a multimeter and soldering iron and am willing to try anything - any advice or help a more knowledgeable fellow could give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

dilwyn
Mr QL

Re: Sinclair QL - blank screen.... HeLp!

Post by dilwyn »

I don't know whether there is anything in the QL service manual which might help
http://www.dilwyn.me.uk/docs/ebooks/index.html

tofro
Font of All Knowledge

Post by tofro »

Hi,

First: If you press F1 on your blank screen, does mdv1_ start to whirr? If yes, it truly is a video problem, if not, we need to look somewhere else.