QL prototyping board...

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Dave
SandySuperQDave

QL prototyping board...

Post by Dave »

I've used my last prototyping board today. It's time to order some more. Since I can reduce costs by increasing the size of my order, I thought I'd share my basic design I've been using since 2013, based loosely on the design we used at Sandy.
Don't call her fat.
Don't call her fat.
What you're looking at:

The top left takes a 7805, and if you need it any DPAK 3v3 or 1v8 regulator you like. They are well outside the QL case. The copper fill acts as a heatsink. Both regulators have provision for ceramic or electrolytic caps both before and after and polarity is indicated. Power distribution is done as on solderless breadboards. The power tracks are on both sides of the PCB, and the hole size in them is slightly reduced to increase conductor area. I ran a separate power bus from the 3v3 regulator alongside the SMD pad area.

On the left is a general output area for .1" headers paired with a wiring area totaling 28x2. There are two rows of that. Also great for jumpers. Then you have four areas of 25 rows. Three of those also have a 20 pin SMD pad for ICs I often used, broken out for easy access. That's just what I was using back then. The left two areas sit well outside a QL, so you can continue onto regular breadboards or other bulk PCBs if you wish. This board is 186mm x 100mm, .062 and 1oz, FR4.

After a brief safety area (I killed some QL components with an accidental short to the connector - lesson learned) there's the J1 connector, then a copy of it where you can either just put in 2x32 strips, pins or a DIN connector facing up - whatever suits you. Both connectors are clearly labels for pin position and row A or B as that trips people up a LOT.