Minerva ROM: Second Screen, how It works?

A place to discuss general QL issues.
User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Minerva ROM: Second Screen, how It works?

Postby Outsoft » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:43 pm

Hi to all guys.

I would like to know hot to use the Second Screen on the Minerva QL Rom.

I supposed that can be used as a second desktop but I see that is only possible to switch it (and If unused is always black) and not operate with it.

I just supposed that can be uses as a "task switch screen" but I see that also with QTPI that works in task mode is absolutely not used.

I would like to work with it.

Best regards.


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minerva ROM: Second Screen, how It works?

Postby RWAP » Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:19 pm

It has been quite a while since I experimented with the Minerva second screen. The majority of my findings appear in the SBASIC/SuperBASIC Reference Manual - http://superbasic-manual.readthedocs.io ... .html#mode and http://superbasic-manual.readthedocs.io ... clean.html

The main problem is that not much software was written which was aware of or could handle it.

Try MODE 96,-1 to switch the default screen to the second screen and then execute your program.

I think later versions of the pointer environment realised which screen was being used and switched when switching between programs, but I can't remember


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Minerva ROM: Second Screen, how It works?

Postby Outsoft » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:48 pm

RWAP wrote:It has been quite a while since I experimented with the Minerva second screen. The majority of my findings appear in the SBASIC/SuperBASIC Reference Manual - http://superbasic-manual.readthedocs.io ... .html#mode and http://superbasic-manual.readthedocs.io ... clean.html

The main problem is that not much software was written which was aware of or could handle it.

Try MODE 96,-1 to switch the default screen to the second screen and then execute your program.

I think later versions of the pointer environment realised which screen was being used and switched when switching between programs, but I can't remember


Thanks dear.

I was able to launch a second Superbasic session on the second screen too ;)



Return to “General QL Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests